- Municipal Court
- Defensive Driving
Dismiss Your Citation
You may be able to take a driving safety course to have your citation dismissed.
Request the Class
You must request permission to take defensive driving from the Court in person or by mail by the due date on your citation. You must not have completed a defensive driving course, for the purpose of dismissing a citation, within the previous 12 months preceding the date of your current citation.
You must provide the Court the following before you take driving safety course:
- Written plea of no contest or guilty to the charge
- Copy of your valid Texas Driver's License
- Copy of your proof of vehicle liability insurance card in your name
- Pay State fee and costs for defensive driving (contact Court for specific information for your violation)
The defendant is not eligible if the offense is:
- Speeding 95 miles per hour or more
- Speeding 25 miles per hour or more over posted limit
- Fail to remain and give information / aid (leaving the scene of an accident)
- Passing a school bus
- An offense committed in a construction zone while workers are present
Defendants who hold a commercial driver's license are not eligible for defensive driving regardless of whether you were in a commercial vehicle or in your personal vehicle.
Upon approval, you will be granted 90 days to complete the driving safety course and to obtain a certified copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety. Your completion certificate from your course and your certified copy of your driving record must be turned in to the Court within the 90 days. If you comply with the Judge's orders, your charge will be dismissed.
Failure to provide your completion certificate and / or your certified driving record to the Court within the 90 days will result in your case being set for a show cause hearing before the Judge. Failure to appear for the show cause hearing will result in a fine and conviction on your driving record and a Capias warrant will be issued for your arrest.